Coffee cake in a Mug

Day 6 Coffee Cake in a Mug!

20140525-084727-31647267.jpg

Coming to you from out of state still, you’ll know when I’m back if you see good quality pictures again lol.

What you’ll need
1tbsp butter softened but not melted
1tbsp truvia
1 egg
1/8 tsp baking powder
A few drops of vanilla
2tbsp almond milk or heavy cream
1/4 cup almond flour

For the crumb topping

1tbsp butter softened
1tsp truvia
2tbsp almond flour
Dash of cinnamon

Mix the butter and truvia together to create a cream, then add the egg and mix that in. Then add in the remaining ingredients.

To make the crumb mix the butter, truvia, flour and cinnamon together and place on top.

Microwave for 1 minute and 30 seconds. This one puffs up quite a bit! For reference I used a 6oz mug, so you might want to use 8oz or so to keep it all inside and not let the crumbly stuff falling all over lol.

 

**EDIT: A lot of comments were saying that the crumble would fall to the center of the mug. I had NO idea why this was happening because it was not happening to me. When suddenly the shape of the mug dawned on me! I am using a short 6oz mug, many were using larger mugs. If you use a small mug the topping doesn’t sink, whereas with a larger mug it does. **

Enjoy!
Cherise

43 thoughts on “Coffee cake in a Mug

  1. Emily says:

    how did you keep your crumble topping from sinking into the cake?? I’ve made it twice now (once for me & once bc I didn’t want to share it with the 5yo!) & both times the crumb topping sank into it!

  2. I’ve heard a few people say this since I posted it on facebook, and I honestly don’t know! I had no problems with it at all and it just sat on top. I used my fingers to kind of crumble it up and sprinkle it on top when I did it.

  3. I like it that it sinks to the middle – like a filled cupcake~ This is amazing!! My husband is so picky about low carb recipes and he loved this one~ I used erythritol and a few drops of stevia glycerite.

  4. Kelli says:

    My butter was not too soft. I think it is the shape of the mug that causes the sides of the cake to rise and eat the top. The outside of the cake cooking faster than the middle. Next time I will try it with a short/wide mug. It was a yummy breakfast, despite the sinking top. My kids thought it was French Toast in a Mug.

    • Yes, we discovered yesterday that the shape of the mug is what causes the sinking vs the rising. It took some experimenting because I had no idea why everyone else’s kept sinking and mine didn’t when I thought of that! I had a few test it out with a shorter mug and voila that solved the “problem.”

    • This is my favorite mug cake ever! I used a wide 6oz. The topping sunk to the bottom and I flipped it out onto a plate for a beautiful presentation. Upside down coffee cake basically. Looking forward to sharing this with my family today for Sunday breakfast. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Rochelle says:

    This cake hit the spot for myself and my 3 yr old!! My crumbs sank too…all the way to the bottom LOL. But then I turned it out onto a plate and it had become an like an upsidedown cake and was PERFECT! Thanks for the recipe!

    • I’m glad you liked it! We discovered that the reason the crumbs sink to the bottom is due to the size and shape of the mug. The mug I used was small and therefore everything squished and stayed on top πŸ™‚

  6. LeeAnna says:

    What can I sub for the almond flour. I have allergic reactions to almond anything. Can I sub the same amount of oat fiber, oat flour or coconut flour? I am really wanting to try this, it looks delicious.

  7. Jessica Chadbourne says:

    Umm….. definitely trying this TODAY!! Why haven’t I seen this before? Yum! And the picture is beautiful. Thank You!

  8. Jaye says:

    I’m so sad and disappointed! Mine came out not even looking close to yours in the picture. It also seems too wet. I nuked it for 2 mins thinking it would cake more but it didn’t. I followed the recipe exact. I’ve never been a baker! Honestly so frustrated with myself!

  9. Alyssa says:

    This recipe is sooo yummy!! It’s my first time baking with almond flour and I absolutely love it!! It’s nutty and delicious, perfect with a cup of coffee. Thank you!!!

  10. Jennifer S says:

    I baked it in a ramekin @ 375 for 20 minutes, putting the topping on after the first 10 minutes. It worked beautifully. I also used almond meal (all I had) so it is a little too crunchy, but I might try oat flour next time. Thanks!

    • I’m not sure as I don’t count calories and don’t currently have the ingredients on hand to check. I’m sure a quick look at your ingredients would be able to give you an idea.

  11. Deb says:

    Oh my word!!!! I’ve died and gone to heaven. MIM heaven that is. I added chopped walnuts to the topping and used gentle sweet instead of truvia. YUM, tied with peanut butter chocolate MIM.

Leave a Reply

