Healthy Snacks for Kids (and Adults)

Healthy Snacks for Kids (and Adults)

I really decided to take responsibility for my family and how we were eating. I realized that even though my daughter isn’t overweight at all, if I didn’t give her the tools to succeed right now, she could grow up and pig out on junk food and gain weight. It’s a huge issue (literally) in the USA, 75% of American adults are overweight. 75%! It’s crazy. 34% of children are overweight or obese. It’s frightening, really. Do you know what kind of diseases are caused by being overweight? Basically all of them, but the most prevalent that we are seeing now are;

1. Heart Disease

2. Diabetes

3. Cancer

Do these sound like things you want, or want your child to have? Of course not! That’s why I literally went through my cupboards and threw all processed foods away. I got rid of anything that had “artificial” in the ingredients, because did you know that artificial flavorings aren’t regulated AT ALL in the USA? It could literally be anything! What was I actually feeding myself / my family? I don’t even know. Garbage.

Alright, so onto what I did! I decided that if we were going to eat healthy, it needed to be convenient. That is one of the biggest factors in whether we are successful with something. There are days I just want to relax and do nothing and in those days we would need something fast and easy to grab. So onto planning I went! My planning took me a good 5-6 hours to do, because I pretty much had no idea what healthy food was. Sure I was eating “healthier” by buying “natural” processed foods and grass fed beef, but we still ate things like mac and cheese daily. So I had to do research on things with vitamins, protein, minerals, what was going to be the best option for us that we could handle, but also ease our way into healthy eating. Here are my snack boxes that are grab and go!

Healthy Snacks for Kids

On top of buying these healthy foods, I also bought a new skillet and bread pan, because the items you use to cook food are also very important. Aluminum and teflon can leach cancer causing stuff into your food! Yuck.

I got this pan  (clicking the picture will take you to Amazon) and so far it’s been amazing! Seriously, everything just slides right out of it, making clean up take about 3.5 seconds.

And this breadpan GreenLife Healthy Ceramic Breadpan (clicking the picture will take you to Walmart.com)

Enjoy! 🙂

cherisemcclimans

Leave a comment